Dishonest Abe

On my usual trips through grocery stores, parks, and hallways I come by a very intriguing
phenomenon. Pennies are just laying in the corners of stores or even out in the open, right in front of everyone’s eyes. And I can’t help but feel sick every time a person passes one up. Sure, they may have simply not seen it, but I am sure if I put a dollar bill in the penny’s place they would at least take notice. I, myself, go beyond the call and pick up all the change that I can find. I make at least a quarter a week doing this practice. And I know that you can too!

(Insert here image of that Vince guy that sells stuff on TV or those old Uncle Sam posters (you know the one where he points at you?) and that is exactly what I look like right now, except without a headset on. It is at RadioShack being fixed right now, I spilled coffee on it ughhhh. Anyways, I digress…)

Money is money is money. Even though it is only a quarter, I make a profit every time. I wish people could understand this concept and join in on the adventure. It is fun and no doubt exhilarating. The best are when two people see the penny at the same time. Both want that penny, but it seems that neither are willing to take it. Neither wants to give the impression to the other that they are low enough that they feel the need to pick the penny up. The jackwagons are probably thinking to themselves, “Its face down for crying out loud, I would have bad luck the rest of the day. So I can’t possibly bend over to pick it up.” Idiots.

However, I encourage you to defy that stupid logic and pick up all those pennies. No one is above a penny. Be honest with yourself. You know you want that penny, so go ahead and take it. Honest Abe would be disappointed with you if you passed over it.

1 Comment

Filed under Free stuff, humor, Thoughts

One response to “Dishonest Abe

  1. JB

    So there’s this fire station on my jogging route. Because they sit around all day, they have to find some form of entertainment… they glued a bunch of pennies, nickels, and dimes to the sidewalk across the street from the fire station. They sit in lawn chairs in between calls and watch poor, innocent runners attempt to pick them up! I have not fallen for it, but it may just be reason people are more hesitant these days!

Leave a Reply

